Connect with us


Ballon d’Or start time: What time does Ballon d’Or start with Messi fighting Van Dijk



The Ballon d’Or is recognised by many as the most prestigious individual honour in football. Luka Modric picked up the prize last year thanks to his exploits with Real Madrid and with Croatia at the World Cup in Russia. He became the first player in a decade other than Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to claim the prize.

However, the Real star does not feature on the 30-man shortlist this time around.

Messi is the favourite with bookmakers, followed by Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and old rival Ronaldo.

Ada Hegerberg picked up the first-ever women’s Ballon d’Or last year and features on the shortlist once again.

However, the Norwegian did not play at the World Cup this summer, making it unlikely she will retain the gong.

USA star Megan Rapinoe and England’s Lucy Bronze are among the frontrunners.

What time does the Ballon d’Or start?

The Ballon D’or is scheduled to get underway at 7.30pm GMT.

Paris’ Theatre du Chatelet will be staging the ceremony.

Broadcast information will be confirmed in due course.

Ballon d’Or shortlists


Sadio Mane (SEN/Liverpool), Sergio Aguero (ARG/Manchester City), Frenkie de Jong (NED/Barcelona), Hugo Lloris (FRA/Tottenham), Dusan Tadic (SER/Ajax), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG), Trent Alexander-Arnold (ENG/Liverpool), Donny van de Beek (NED/Ajax), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB/Arsenal), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (GER/Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus), Alisson (BRA/Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (NED/Juventus), Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid), Georginio Wijnaldum (NED/Liverpool), Virgil van Dijk (NED/Liverpool), Bernardo Silva (POR/Manchester City), Son Heung-min (KOR/Tottenham), Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich), Roberto Firmino (BRA/Liverpool), Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona), Riyad Mahrez (ALG/Manchester City), Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City), Kalidou Koulibaly (SEN/Napoli), Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Barcelona), Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool), Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid), Marquinhos (BRA/Paris-SG), Raheem Sterling (ENG/Manchester City), Joao Félix(POR/Atletico Madrid)


Sam Kerr (AUS/Chelsea), Ellen White (ENG/Manchester City), Nilla Fischer (SWE/Linkopings), Amandine Henry (FRA/Lyon), Lucy Bronze(ENG/Lyon), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride), Vivianne Miedema (NED/Arsenal), Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER/Lyon), Pernille Harder (DEN/Wolfsburg), Sarah Bouhaddi (FRA/Lyon), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC), Lieke Martens (NED/Barcelona), Sari van Veenendal (NED/Atletico Madrid), Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon), Rose Lavelle(USA/Washington Spirit), Marta (BRA/Orlando Pride), Ada Hegerberg (NOR/Lyon), Kosovare Asllani (SWE/CD Tacon), Sofia Jakobsson (SWE/CD Tacon), Tobin Heath (USA/Portland Thorns)